A look at Saints players with practice squad eligibility

The NFL announced some changes to practice squads in 2014 and 2015, which increases the maximum number of players from eight to 10, and also expands the eligibility for players who have earned no more than two accrued seasons.

Previously, players who earned one or more accrued seasons were not allowed to be placed on practice squads unless the player spent fewer than nine games on the active roster in their accrued seasons.

Under the new rules, the two additional players on each practice squad can have up to 32 games on an active roster over their first two seasons. What this means is that any 2012 or 2013 rookie can now fill the final two practice squad spots.

The other eight players remain under the old rules.

For the Saints, who have a young roster, this means there are now several candidates who could fill out the practice squad.

The following is a list of players who have practice squad eligibility by one means or another (assuming our understanding of the new rules are correct). However, it should be noted some combinations of the following names would not work due to the differing sets of rules.

T Terron Armstead
C Matt Armstrong
S Marcus Ball
CB Derrius Brooks
WR Brandon Coleman
WR Brandin Cooks
LB Todd Davis
K Derek Dimke
CB Brian Dixon
LB Kasim Edebali
RB Timothy Flanders
T Manase Foketi
LB Khairi Fortt
DE Glenn Foster
CB Terrence Frederick
QB Ryan Griffin
TE Je’Ron Hamm
WR Charles Hawkins
TE Josh Hill
TE Nic Jacobs
CB Stanley Jean-Baptiste
NT John Jenkins
DE Rufus Johnson
FB Austin Johnson
T Marcel Jones
WR Seantavius Jones
G Senio Kelemete
QB Logan Kilgore
LB Kyle Knox
T Ty Nsekhe
WR Tobais Palmer
LB Ronald Powell
LB Kevin Reddick
RB Khiry Robinson
T Tavon Rooks
WR Kenny Stills
RB Derrick Strozier
S Vinnie Sunseri
CB Rod Sweeting
DE George Uko
LB Chidera Uzo-Diribe
S Kenny Vaccaro
DE Tyrunn Walker
T Jason Weaver
S Ty Zimmerman