LSU Lady Tigers picked to finish sixth in SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The LSU Lady Tigers have been picked to finish  sixth in the 2012-13 Southeastern Conference women’s basketball standings in a voting of select SEC and national media members released Tuesday, according to an LSU news release.

Kentucky topped the order of finish with 376 points with Georgia (352), Vanderbilt (336), Tennessee (316), Texas A&M (284), LSU (251) and South Carolina (194) rounding out the top half of the league. Arkansas (168), Florida (144), Auburn (124), Mississippi State (116), Ole Miss (47), Missouri (39) and Alabama (36) rounded out the bottom half.

LSU, which finished in a fourth-place tie in the SEC last season, return six letterwinners and three starters from a squad that reached the second round of the 2012 NCAA Tournament.

The Lady Tigers are coming off a 23-11 campaign and a 10-6 mark in conference play in head coach Nikki Caldwell’s first season. Caldwell became just the second coach in SEC history to lead a team to the SEC Tournament championship game in her first season.

Points were compiled on a basis of 14 for first, 13 for second, 12 for third, etc. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team and the Preseason SEC Player of the Year.

Caldwell and LSU men’s coach Johnny Jones will be in Hoover, Ala., Thursday for SEC Basketball Media Day.

The Lady Tigers open their two-game exhibition schedule with a free admission contest at 1 p.m. Nov. 1 against Xavier in the PMAC. LSU opens the regular season at 2 p.m. Nov. 11 against Wichita State, also at home.

2012-13 SEC Women’s Basketball Preseason Media Poll

(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Kentucky (20)

Player of the Year: A’dia Mathis (20); Christina Foggie (4); Anne Marie Armstrong (1); Jennifer George (1)

Order of Finish

1. Kentucky (20) — 376

2. Georgia (1) — 352

3. Vanderbilt (2) — 336

4. Tennessee (2) — 316

5. Texas A&M (1) — 284

6. LSU — 251

7. South Carolina — 94

8. Arkansas — 168

9. Florida — 144

10. Auburn — 124

11. Mississippi State — 116

12. Ole Miss — 47

13. Missouri — 39

14. Alabama — 36

All-SEC First Team

Jennifer George, Florida

Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia

A’dia Mathies, Kentucky

Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M

Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

Second Team

Sarah Watkins, Arkansas

Jasmine Hassell, Georgia

Samarie Walker, Kentucky

Ieasia Walker, South Carolina

Meighan Simmons, Tennessee